The Awards were hosted by Helen Fospero, well-respected TV Journalist and presenter. Every year, Plunkett Foundation celebrates the most outstanding examples of the rural community co-operative sector. Now in their fifth year, the Awards showcase the co-operatives that have made a real difference to individuals within their communities, from helping to overcome social isolation and loneliness, to addressing specific health issues.

It was fantastic to welcome the groups to the stage to collect their awards but, to make it an even greater celebration, we are putting together some party packs for the groups to gather their community together and throw a party.

The packs, kindly sponsored by Power to Change will include a selection of items to help create the perfect party, as well as some vouchers towards food. Our groups can gather volunteers, staff and residents in their community to celebrate their amazing achievement.

Our 2017 winners were:

  • Barkers of Huby in North Yorkshire won the Yorkshire and North East England Award, sponsored by SUMA Wholefoods.
  • Old Crown Co-operative (The Old Crown) in Cumbria won the North West England Award, presented by Prince’s Countryside Fund.
  • Bamford Community Society (The Angler’s Rest) in Derbyshire won the Midlands Award, sponsored by BCRS Business Loans.
  • Rocklands Community Shop in Norfolk won the East of England Award, presented by Fram Farmers.
  • Ewelme Village Store in Oxfordshire won the South East England Award, sponsored by The Phone Co-op.
  • Exbourne & Jacobstowe Community Association (The Burrow) in Devon won the South West England Award, sponsored by The Retail Mutual.
  • GlenWyvis Distillery in Dingwall won the Scotland Award, sponsored by the Co-operative Group.
  • Cletwr Shop in Machynlleth won the Wales Award, presented by Wales Co-operative Centre.
  • Raglan Community Development & Renovation Society in Ballymena won the Northern Ireland Award, presented by Co-operative Alternatives. 
  • Ronald Thorne from Chittlehamholt Village Shop won the People’s Choice Award, sponsored by Hastoe Housing Association. For this award we asked co-operatives to nominate an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to their enterprise and therefore their wider community.

Details of our 2018 Awards will be available in the Spring.