The Rural Community Co-operative Awards, which celebrate the achievements of some of the UK’s best community co-operatives, saw winners from as far north as GlenWyvis Distillery in Dingwall right down to Exbourne & Jacobstowe Community Association in Devon. They were presented by TV journalist Helen Fospero in a special ceremony at St Bride Foundation, London.

Harriet English, Head of Engagement at Plunkett Foundation, said: “We are so proud of all of the community co-operatives who we support. We would give them all a prize if we could! However, we felt it was important for the award winners to have something to help them celebrate their achievement with the rest of their community, staff and volunteers.”

Jenny Sansom, Programmes Manager at Power to Change, said: “We are delighted to be sponsoring these party packs so the winning community co-operatives can celebrate with their whole community. The awards are a great way to celebrate the amazing examples of rural community co-operatives in the UK. We hope that as many groups as possible will share with us their photos from their parties, it’s such a nice way to start off 2018.”

The packs, which include party essentials such as balloons and bunting as well as unique items such as personalised chalkboards and selfie frames, will be delivered in January to all 10 groups. And, to top it all off, Plunkett and Power to Change are including a £250 food voucher for the groups so they can get local supplies in for their parties.

The winners of the 2017 Rural Community Co-operative Awards were Barkers of Huby in North Yorkshire, Old Crown Co-operative in Cumbria, Bamford Community Society in Derbyshire, Rocklands Community Shop in Norfolk, Ewelme Village Store in Oxfordshire, Exbourne & Jacobstowe Community Association in Devon, GlenWyvis Distillery in Dingwall, Cletwr Shop in Machynlleth, Raglan Community Development & Renovation Society in Ballymena and Ronald Thorne from Chittlehamholt Village Shop who won the People’s Choice Award.